In Georgia, you are required to call the police if there’s an accident where anyone was injured, killed, or if damages exceed $500. Nowadays, it’s unlikely that you’ll walk away from an accident with less than $500 in damages, so you should always plan on calling the police.
If there’s even a slight chance that you’ll want to pursue compensation from the other party, you need to have the police come and create a report on the scene. Even if you don’t think the accident was a big deal at all, call the police. The whole process should take less than 30 minutes, and you’ll have more legal options for recovery.
After calling the police, call our Athens car accident lawyers. We’ll protect your rights and work to get you every penny of the compensation you need.
Police reports are valuable pieces of evidence because they contain so much information about the details of the accident:
Police reports cannot be used as evidence in court, but they do play an important role in the insurance claims process. This is usually the first document that adjusters examine when accepting or denying your claim, so having one will help your case greatly.
Without a report, adjusters will assume that the wreck wasn’t serious at all and that you don’t need any money. Remember, the state of Georgia requires drivers to report accidents to the police if there are any injuries, fatalities, or property damage exceeding $500, so it’s highly unlikely that you’ll receive reimbursement from insurance if you don’t have a report.
Police reports will also prevent the other party from claiming more damage than there actually was. Some drivers try to pull this trick, but with a solid police report, you’ll block them from taking money they don’t deserve.
Also, police reports are a great tool for getting maximum compensation for your injuries and property damage. You don’t want to be in a situation where you don’t call the police at the scene of the crash and suffer latent injuries a week later. In that case, you might be out of luck and unable to recover compensation. Even if you feel fine at the moment, it’s a good idea to notify the cops.
The easiest thing you can do to set yourself up for maximum compensation is to call the police at the scene of the accident. All you have to do is wait for them to show up, answer their questions, and you have a solid piece of evidence.
Even in minor car accidents, the absence of a police report can compromise your claim. Call (706) 995-7547 today to preserve your rights to compensation.
Rafi Law Group is here to help you through an accident. We have years of experience as car accident attorneys that can fight for you and your loved ones after an accident. Don't delay your opportunity to receive compensation for injuries after an accident. Contact our knowledgeable attorneys to discuss your case today.
500 North Milledge Ave, Suite 210 Athens, GA 30606
PHONE: (706) 995-7547
© 2022 All Rights Reserved.